Universal Security Training Academy

The Universal Security Academy is lead by Officer James Hamer, a 20-year veteran of the Memphis Police Department. He is a licensed NRA Certified Instructor.

At the Universal Security Academy all students will learn unarmed security and armed security essentials along with standard safety training in each area.

Unarmed Guard Required Training in Tennessee

Unarmed security guard employees must be at least 18. They must be citizens or resident aliens and must meet character and fitness requirements set by the state. An applicant cannot be habitually drunk or dependent on narcotics and cannot have a disability that would preclude performing duties.

An applicant is not automatically denied because of past criminal conviction. However, if the conviction is a felony or potentially disqualifying misdemeanor, the individual must have completed his or her sentence or probation no less than five years earlier.

Disqualifying misdemeanors include the following:

  • Shooting of a weapon
  • Violence
  • Sale, manufacture, or distribution of illegal substances
  • Shoplifting
  • Theft of property or services

Training is mandatory. The training may be provided by the contract security company. A prospective student can also find approved trainers by doing a license search through the website of the licensing agency. At least one training hour will be devoted to each of the following concepts:

  • Orientation
  • Legal power and limitation of power
  • General duties
  • Emergency procedures

The student can expect testing. A state certified trainer will provide a certificate verifying completion of requirements. If the guard or officer will carry a device or weapon classified as “less than lethal”, he or she will need training in the specific device. The instructor must be certified to offer the particular training. Less than lethal weapons include stun guns and chemical spray, among others.

Unarmed employee may be authorized to work temporarily following submission of application and other required materials. Private Protective Services has provided a list of frequently asked questions (http://www.tn.gov/commerce/topic/prot-faqs).

NOTE: Unarmed registration is renewed every two years

 

Armed Guard Required Training in Tennessee

Armed guards must be 21 years of age. They have additional training requirements beyond those required for unarmed contract security employees. They will need to take an eight hour course that includes legal limitations of firearms usage, safety, maintenance, and handling. They will also need four hours of marksmanship training. This training culminates in a commissioner-approved target course.

Unarmed guards will need additional training for weapons or other devices that they may use.

An individual cannot work as an armed guard until he or she possesses, at minimum, a conditional card.

Armed guards must complete refresher/ range training during each renewal period.

 

The applicant will need to submit three passport-style photographs. Those who answer “yes’ to criminal history questions will need to provide additional supporting information.

Officer Hamer accepts up to 10 people per time slot booked by one person. If you are booking for more than one person, please contact Universal Security Academy to get a quote and provide you with forms for each person. Prices shown are a per person basis, for special quotes contact Officer James Hamer.

Book individual training classes and make payment upon reservation below:

Upcoming In-Person Group Training Classes

Unarmed Guard Classes:

Tuesday – Friday
3:30pm – 7:30pm
$65 per person

Armed Guard Classes:

Friday & Saturday
9am – 5pm
$150 per person + additional state required fees

 State Application Submission $105 & Fingerprints and background check $32.65

Loading...

Online Classes

The Universal Security, LLC Academy Tennessee Concealed Carry (CCP) Online Course

Learn all the information of carrying a weapon in Tennessee. Learn at your own pace and get all the requirements to register for your Concealed Carry Permit in Tennessee.  All participants will receive a valid certificate upon completion valid for 1 year upon completion of the online course.
$60 per person